Glass Half Empty

Writing 101 – Assignment # 17

A glass half empty is all I see while you see yours as half full,

I’m drowning in despair while you’re on cloud nine so whatever you’re smoking please give me a pull.

A glass half empty is all you have left when you give more of yourself than you receive,

Too high expectations you had for these humans, leaving more disappointments than your mind could conceive.

In my glass half empty I’ll never get that promotion regardless if I have the work skills that my boss admires,

“She’s young, she can wait” is what I hear them say. It’ll be another 10 years before one of these old farts retire!

A glass that is half empty is what I sip on late at night when my perpetual single status has me feeling alone,

I swear I must be a magnet for losers, if Cupid’s out of arrows at least throw me a bone.

As I stare down into my glass half empty, I’m envious of the happiness I see,

Then realizing that the person with the glass half full is actually my reflection staring up at me.

2 comments

  1. Pairs Well With... · November 25, 2015

    Really great, reflective piece! That was not how I was expecting it to end. Loved this!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Joana Salazar · November 25, 2015

    Wow, love the last stanza 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

