It’s better to change one’s mindset than change one’s cirrcumstances

Writing 101 Assignment #16

Randomly going through my old high school files, I discovered a detailed report of my SAT scores. Not only was it my scores, but I discovered a copy of my original essay I wrote in the ‘Writing’ portion of the exam. It was scanned in my original handwriting and I was simply shocked that I never realized I had this. Of course being curious about the writing skills of my younger self, I decided to have a read. Almost ten years later, my mind set is almost exactly the same; of course I’m a bit more refined now lol. I’ve decided to use the topic from my SAT essay to write a quick poem.

It is better to change one’s attitude than change one’s circumstances:

You can’t determine the hand you will be dealt or see you future in a crystal ball,

Sometimes life comes at you so fast, there’s no time for preparation at all.

Certain people are born into crummy situations while other people encounter these challenges over time,

It doesn’t matter how these changes affect your social status or finances but more so mentally, how it affects your mind.

God helps those who helps themselves so it’s important to at least try to do your best and stay hyped,

But when your best doesn’t work, smile through the tears, your blessing is on its way down the pipe.

Leave a Reply

